The Editorial Board

About the Editorial Board

The Editorial Board — which operates independently of The Crimson’s newsroom — writes, solicits, and edits opinion content reflecting a range of perspectives and issues at Harvard. We accept op-ed and letter submissions from Harvard affiliates, publish biweekly columns, and produce our own staff editorials reflecting a majority vote of participating board members. More details can be found about each type of content below. 

Who We Are

Nicole B. Alexander ’24 | Social Studies
Julia Alvarenga ’26 | Economics
Brooks B. Anderson ’25 | Government
Saul I. M. Arnow ’26 | Undeclared | Associate Editorial Editor
Ellie H. Ashby ’24 | Social Studies
Leah R. Baron ’25 | Statistics
Tommy Barone ’25 | Social Studies | Editorial Comp Director
Violet T. M. Barron ’26 | Undeclared
Aden L. Barton ’24 | Economics | Associate Editorial Editor
Julien Berman ’26 | Undeclared
Anne M. Brandes ’25 | Computer Science and Philosophy
Anil S. Cacodcar ’26 | Undeclared
Cara J. Chang ’24 | History | President
Christina N. Chaperon ’25 | Sociology 
Merlin A. D’souza ’25 | Human Developmental and Regenerative Biology
Julia S. Dan ’26 | Undeclared
Kate A. De Groote ’24-’25 | Government 
Emily N. Dial ’25 | Philosophy
Zion J. Dixon ’26 | Undeclared
Gordon J. Ebanks ’24 | Social Studies | Associate Editorial Editor
Ericka S. Familia ’25 | Social Studies
Alice R. Ferguson ’25 | History and Government 
Avery J. Fulmer ’25 | Economics
Angie Gabeau ’25 | Sociology 
Ananya Ganesh ’26 | Undeclared 
Lucas T. Gazianis ’24 | Social Studies | Associate Editorial Editor
Christian A. Gines ’25 | History & Literature and African & African American Studies
Steven Giraldo ’26 | Undeclared
Matt J. Given ’25 | History & Literature
Michaela K. Glavin ’25 | Neuroscience
David I. Gonzalez ’25 | Psychology and Economics
Jasmine M. Green ’24 | Social Studies
Tenzin R. Gund-Morrow ’26 | Undeclared 
Dalal M. Hassane ’26 | Undeclared
Joseph W. Hernandez ’25 | Government
Ruby J.J. Huang ’24 | History | Editorial Comp Director
Shania D. Hurtado ’25 | Government
Peter N. Jones ’25 | Government
April S. Keyes ’26 | Undeclared
Sameer M. Khan ’24 | History of Science and Social Anthropology
Lauren A. Kirkpatrick ’26 | Undeclared 
Sidnee N. Klein ’25 | Sociology | Associate Editorial Editor
Sandhya Kumar ’26 | Undeclared
Clyve Lawrence ’25 | Government
Katherine H. Lee ’26 | Undeclared
Samuel P.N. Libenson ’25 | Social Studies and Philosophy
Abigail V. Mack ’25 | Social Studies and Philosophy
Maia Patel Masini ’25 | Social Studies
McKenna E. McKrell ’26 | Undeclared 
Sam E. Meacham ’25 | Social Studies
Nithya R. Medam ’26 | Undeclared
Mac M. Mertens ’26 | Undeclared
Jacob M. Miller ’25 | Mathematics | Associate Editorial Editor
Eusung R. Moon ’26 | Undeclared
Alaha A. Nasari ’24 | History and Science
Matthew E. Nekritz ’25 | Social Studies
Joshua Ochieng ’24 | Economics | Associate Editorial Editor
Alexandra P. Oikonomou ’26 | Undeclared
Max A. Palys ’26 | Undeclared
Gracia A. Perala ’25 | English
Francis Immanuel N. Puente ’24 | English
Hea Pushpraj ’25 | History | Associate Editorial Editor
Afiya Rahman ’24 | Social Studies and South Asian Studies 
Sanjna N. Rajagopalan ’26 | Undeclared
Kanishka J. Reddy ’24 | Government
Vander O. B. Ritchie ’26 | Undeclared
Abril Rodriguez Diaz ’26 | Undeclared
Santiago Salazar ’26 | Undeclared
Javier E. Serra ’26 | Undeclared
Jeffrey B. Shi ’26 | Undeclared
Autumn Shin ’26 | Undeclared
Noah E. Siraj ’24 | Mathematics
Ebony M. Smith ’24 | Government and African & African American Studies
Shanivi Srikonda ’24 | Human Developmental and Regenerative Biology | Associate Editorial Editor
Ian D. Svetkey ’25 | Integrative Biology | Associate Editorial Editor
Ivan Toth-Rohonyi ’25 | Computer Science and Sociology
Alvira Tyagi ’25 | Neuroscience and Government
Eleanor P. Wiesler ’25 | Mathematics 
Eleanor V. Wikstrom ’24 | Social Studies | Editorial Chair
Grant B. Williams ’25 | Statistics
Kelisha M. Williams ’25 | Psychology
Prince A. Williams ’25 | History
Minjue Wu ’24 | History of Science and Molecular and Cellular Biology
Christina M. Xiao ’24 | Computer Science and Government | Editorial Chair
Manuel A. Yepes ’24 | Social Studies 

If you would like to join our team or have questions about our processes or membership, do not hesitate to email our leadership at No previous experience with journalism is necessary!

Staff Editorials

Staff editorials represent the majority view of the Editorial Board. Three times per week, the board meets to discuss the biggest campus issues of the moment and vote on a shared stance to be published under “The Crimson Editorial Board” byline. While we strive to find a meaningful consensus — that is inclusive of our varied perspectives and concerns — we often disagree. Occasionally, when the board is divided about the opinion expressed in a staff editorial, dissenting board members have the opportunity to write a dissent.


Op-eds are individual opinion pieces authored by Harvard affiliates. They do not reflect the views of The Crimson's Editorial Board. The best op-eds contain strong and well-supported argumentative stances, unique angles on timely issues, and clear relevance to the Harvard community. 

We welcome op-ed submissions from the entire Harvard community. With the rare exception of extenuating circumstances, op-ed authors must be affiliated with Harvard. Op-eds are evaluated at the discretion of the Op-eds Editors. They should be submitted via email to and should run between 650 and 850 words. Except in highly unusual cases, we require that op-eds be signed by one to three named individuals. We will not accept articles that have been authored under a pseudonym or by an organization as a whole; even for pieces with named individual authors, we will not accept articles that do not advance an argument beyond the mission statement of a given organization. Op-eds by non-Crimson writers may not include reported content such as interviews with other parties. We also will not accept op-eds that are explicitly written in response to previously published content; please see “Letters to the Editor” for pieces in response to our content. 


The Crimson has several editorial columnists, who write bi-weekly columns. Though some columnists are also Crimson editors, most are not. In selecting columnists each semester, the Editorial Board attempts to select a broad range of themes and opinions. Columnists are asked to focus on a particular issue or theme. Common topics include Harvard undergraduate life, national politics, and personal identity. Harvard students interested in writing a column for The Crimson are encouraged to contact before the start of a semester.

Letters to the Editor

The Editorial Board values responses to our published opinions and other Crimson content. Letters to the Editor must respond directly and explicitly to either an opinion piece recently published on the Editorial page, or else to The Crimson’s manner of coverage within any section of the newspaper. Letters that respond to the subject matter of a non-opinion Crimson article, rather than The Crimson’s coverage of that matter, will not be accepted. 

Letters to the Editor are evaluated at the discretion of the Editorial Chairs. They should be submitted to and should run between 350 and 550 words. We require Letters to the Editor to be signed by one to three named individuals, with the opportunity for a list of additional signers to appear hyperlinked in the piece. We do not accept Letters to the Editor from organizations or anonymous writers. 


The Harvard Crimson is committed to accuracy in its reporting. Should an editorial piece make a factual error or misrepresent the view of an individual or organization, please contact, and we will publish a correction when circumstances warrant one.